Winfield-Elsberry football

In its first season as a cooperative, Winfield-Elsberry’s football squad made an instant impact – and turned a winless 2020 campaign into a Gateway Athletic Conference North Division champion in 2021.

Several Warriors have been honored for that one-year turnaround, including second-year coach Cody Spegal, who was named GAC North Coach of the Year.

Seven Winfield-Elsberry players were named All-Conference First Team for the division, including quarterback Wade Ellison, running back Draven Ham, wide receiver/defensive back Austin Carson, linebackers Colby Twellman and Hunter Dunn, defensive lineman Cole Sams and kicker Kaden Kaimann.

Defensive backs Cody Weber and Bryce Irving were named GAC North All-Conference Second Team, along with offensive lineman Jorgen Krueger and Wilburn Wright. Defensive lineman Kyle Turnbull and athlete Austin Bray were also named to the squad.

In his lone season with the Warriors, senior Jack St. Pierre earned the GAC North Sportsmanship Award.