The Missouri Retired Teacher’s Association (MRTA) presented five Lincoln County R-III teachers with classroom grants – totaling $2,500 – on Aug. 13. 

Lincoln County is one of 14 regions of MRTA – each of those provided seven grants of $500 throughout the state (for a total of $49,000). Lincoln, Pike, Warren and St. Charles counties are all in the same region.

The teachers awarded were Chris Barchesky from Troy Buchanan High School, Stephanie Harris from Main Street Elementary, Katie Henke from Cuivre Park Elementary, Tricia Moore from Lincoln Elementary and Melissa Skibinski from Main Street Elementary. 

MRTA was founded in 1960, and has grown to an organization of over 27,000 members today. The goal of the group is to promote the professional, social and economic welfare of all retired school employees.

Managing Editor

A certified wiz at playing tabletop war games and binge-watching anime, I spend far too much time on the internet. Also I run a couple of newspapers.

Recommended for you