Lincoln County logo

Voters went to the polls on April 6 to cast ballots to determine who would represent them in the various areas of Lincoln County.

According to Lincoln County Clerk Crystal Hall, turnout in the county was average for April elections.

In the Troy mayor’s race, incumbent Ron Sconce will keep his seat for another year, winning a three-way battle against April Bryant and David Norman. 

“I’m super-excited. I’m thrilled and excited the people of Troy chose to keep me here,” Sconce said. “They’ve given me a vote of confidence – and we’ve got a lot of things we’ve got going here such as a sewer project that will be finished later this year that I’m glad I’ll get to see it through.”

Sconce was appointed to the position by the Troy Board of Aldermen in January of 2020, when Mayor Mark Cross stepped down due to health reasons.

Sconce hasn’t decided whether or not he will run for a full four-year term after completing this unexpired term.

Guy Grimstead and Dennis Detert will be returning to the Troy Board of Aldermen with Sconce, as both easily won reelection. 

Stephen Jones will be the board’s newest member, winning the Ward 2 Alderman election. He will replace Lisa Anderson, who retired after 11 years on the board.

“We’ll pretty much be the same group,” Sconce said. “We’ll miss Lisa, and the years of service she gave us, but we’re looking forward to working with Stephen, and getting him up to speed.”

Ron Mills was reelected to one of the positions on the Lincoln County R-III School Board. Doyle Justus was elected to the second, defeating Rachel Brodt-Dunard and Kelsey Flynn in the process.

Carl Hines and Nicholas Martin edged out Jennifer (Latham) Bryan to earn two positions in what was a large field of a candidates for the Lincoln County R-IV School Board election.

William “Sonny” Taylor and Danielle Rockwell were elected Ward 2 and Ward 3 Alderman in Elsberry, respectively. No candidate filed in Ward 1, but there were two write-in votes.

Andy Burkemper and Kandi Kinsler were elected to the Lincoln County R-II School Board.

In Moscow Mills, Cody Quist was elected to a full term as Ward 2 Alderman, defeating Don Wren, and Mark Spence defeated Matthew Beger in the Ward 1 race.

In Foley Christine Higginbotham was elected as Ward 1 Alderwoman, and Julie Madaus as Ward 2 Alderwoman.

Kimberly Ellis and Bernard Henke were elected to the Lincoln County R-I School Board. 

Bobby Evans and Clay Lockard won seats on the Pike County R-III School Board. Deanna Zwyers earned a seat on the Warren County R-III School Board, but John Clinger and Jeffrey Schneider tied, forcing a potential run-off.

Stacy Blondin and Jim Sharp were each elected to the Warren County Fire Protection District Board.

In the Village of Whiteside, Judy Cannon and James Enloe each won trustee positions, and voters unanimously approved a ballot question.

In Truxton, Charlie and Tracie Rohrbacher were each elected trustee. 

In the Village of the Chain of Rocks, no candidates filed for any of the trustee’s seats, but there were 31 write-in votes.