Elsberry High School changed things up a little this year as an awards and scholarships night was held for seniors, as opposed to the presentations at graduation.  Members of the Class of 2021 were invited to a special event honoring their academic achievements and scholarships for their next chapter in their life.  Family and friends watched as over $61,000 in local scholarships were awarded to students, not to mention the monetary contributions from universities and trade schools they will be attending. 

Madison Leckbee

Madison Leckbee receiving the Elsberry Indian Head from Principal Michael Boedeker

Also presented at this event were the five outstanding senior awards that were chosen by the faculty at EHS.  The highest honor is given with the Elsberry Indian Head which was bestowed upon Madison Leckbee.  Other awards include, Outstanding senior given at graduation which went to Brooke Gray, followed by Outstanding Alumni boy and girl who were, Cain Sadler and Liberty Killian and finally the Lincoln County Journal outstanding senior was Brystal Jones.

Liberty and Cain

Outstanding Alumni recipients Liberty Killian and Cain Sadler

The following are the senior and the local scholarships they received (this list does not include the scholarships received from their respective university): Kennedi Barber, American Legion Auxiliary, Eddie Ann Waggoner, Eastin Memorial, Clark Cox, A+ Scholarship; Macy Barber, Floyd Dowell Memorial, Peoples Bank and Trust, MFA, Lovelace Farms, FCS, Elsberry FFA Alumni, A+ Scholarship; Raul Barragan, Eastin Memorial;  Savanah Burbridge, A+ scholarship; Madeline Burke, A+ scholarship; Maranda Burke, A+ scholarship;  Caylyn Dowell, FOEL Grant, Elsberry Community Teachers Association, Clark Cox Memorial, A+ Scholarship; Brooke Gray, Shelter Insurance, MFA, Sherman-Sechler. Clarence Cannon Memorial; Tyra Henderson, A+ scholarship; Brady Hubbard, A+ scholarship; Jada Irving, A+ scholarship;  Brystal Jones, Lincoln County Master Gardener, 4-H Northwest Mutual,  Lincoln County Farmers Mutual,  Asbury Methodist Church, Elsberry Study Club, Lovelace Farms, Lincoln County Farm Bureau, Lincoln Co/Pike Co Cattlemen’s Association, Elsberry FFA Alumni, Eisenbath Memorial; Morgan Jones, Margaret Palmer Memorial, Barnes-McGee Memorial, Lincoln Co/Pike Co Cattlemen’s Association, MO Assoc. Mutual Insurance Co, Elsberry FFA Alumni; Liberty Killian, Elsberry Firefighters Community Outreach, Dane and Carter Brooksher, Elsberry FFA Alumni; Kate Koch, Sons of American Legion, American Legion Auxiliary, Elsberry United Methodist Church, Lincoln Co/Pike Co Cattlemen’s Association, Elsberry FFA Alumni, Eisenbath Memorial, A+ scholarship; Kylie Kinsler, American Legion Auxiliary, John Zerrer Memorial, Elsberry FFA Alumni, A+ scholarship;  Mara Lammert, A+ scholarship; Madison Leckbee, Lincoln County Democrat Youth In Government, MaryAnn Meives Memorial, Peoples Bank and Trust, Lovelace-Waggoner, Elsberry FFA Alumni, Eisenbath Memorial;  Alex LoGrasso, A+ scholarship; Santiago Rios, A+ scholarship; Cain Sadler, Sons of American Legion, Matt Jones Insurance, Lovelace Farms, Elsberry FFA Alumni, Jillian Young Memorial, Eisenbath Memorial, A+ scholarship; Abby Talbot, Marion Keim Memorial; Kaitlin Tapley, American Legion Auxiliary, Elsberry FFA Alumni, A+ scholarship; Jacob Wolanski, MaryAnn Meives Memorial. 

Brooke Gray

Brooke Gray receives the Outstanding Senior award from Principal Michael Boedeker

Also recognized at the event were those students entering the US Military.  They are Donevan Brewer, ROTC Army National Guard; Jeffery Gann,  Air Force; Tynesha Henderson, Army National Guard; Julian Rios, Air Force.