On Thursday, July 4members of Cub Scout Pack 391 led the Pledge of Allegiance for the Old Glory Jubilee celebration at the Elsberry City Park. They were Braidan and Kylee Aaron, Wyatt and Cheyanne Mueller, Nathan and Aiden Headrick, Nikoli Kinion and Isaiah Bunce.  Member of Boy Scout Troop 391 Drew Headrick also participated.


Despite a late afternoon thunderstorm that delayed the start of the 2019 Old Glory Jubilee for approximately a half an hour everything went on as planned at the Elsberry City Park.  The Cub Scouts kicked off the annual event with the Pledge of Allegiance followed by free activities in the park for attendees.  These activities included, a bounce house with a slide, a balloon artist, a bubble zones, free snow cones, and a baby contest.  Food and craft vendors were also on sight.

According to Lauren Holland, OGJ Committee member, “For the weather conditions, we had a good crowd.”

Fireworks also went off without a hitch at their new detonation sight, the Elsberry Khoury League Ballpark.  The concession stand was opened for people to purchase drinks and popcorn and  a special visitor to the venue was the ice cream truck who had plenty of treats for all to enjoy.  The committee has not decided if the fireworks will be at this location in the future, but Holland relayed that they liked this venue and would discuss their options for next year.

Holland also mentioned that for 2020 there will be an Old Glory Jubilee but it will be scaled back due to moving the main fundraiser, the Old Glory Open to the fall. 

OGJ committee current members are Holland, Rachel Turner, Kelsi Conner, Holly Edwards, Amber Huffman, Hillari Lagemann, Amanda Holland, Melanie Watkins, Curtissa Kerr, and Kari Barber.

Recommended for you